Tuesday, 21 May 2013

Laceration - Severing The Divine Iniquity

New Standard Elite 2013
1.Hideous Suffering Within The Forsaken Dimensions 2.Enlightened Through Introspection
3.Beheading The Prophets Of Hope 4.Spewing Venomous Supremacy
5.Neuroleptic Malignancy 6.Severing The Divine Iniquity
7.Throne Of Repulsive Torment 8.Flesh Sculpted Atrocity
9.Abhorrent Remnants Of The Defied Being
Debut full length album from one man death metal machine Laceration was highly anticipated in the underground after some very successful self-releases and label compilations (Tortured Inauguration). Opening up the album is ‘Hideous Suffering Within The Forsaken Dimensions’ which actually begins life quite tamely, allowing a tension to be built before all hell breaks loose in a mass of technical riffing and blasting drums. When Hamish and Co blast, they blast! Tom Walker (Scatorgy) was recruited to drum on this album and it was definitely a good decision, his talents behind the kit definitely complementing Hamish’s technical and precise guitar work perfectly. ‘Enlightened Through Introspection’ is a monstrous affair, blasting open in a pummelling barrage of blast beats and heavy and technical guitar work. Slam 'breaks' are introduced into the track and really work well in amongst the manic sections, breaking the song up extremely well, giving the listener short respite before the ultra-blasting passages let loose once again. ‘Behead The Prophets Of Hope’ continues on in a similar theme, blasting from start to finish with some slam orientated sections again used to break the track up well.The slower slamming heavy death metal really sucks the air from your lungs, plunging into a deep low end pit of nastiness.
‘Spewing Venomous Supremacy’ appears to even more brutal than the previous track (if that is possible!!); it’s an absolute mind-fuck of insanely fast drumming (read gravity blasts), overtly technical guitar work and an ultra-guttural vocal delivery straight from the belly of the beast. As with the previous tracks, the song structure used is very similar, but is working very well so there’s no reason to really scrutinise the continued use – it works and works well. ‘Neuroleptic Malignancy’ begins life slightly differently, a slight melodic edge to the opening riffs, but only slight and 'normal service' is resumed as yet another barrage of brutal death metal is again unleashed. As the track draws to a close the pace is dropped right down and the melodic riffs heard at the beginning of the track are re-introduced and work really well to end the song on. Hamish’s guttural vocals working really well against the backdrop of the more melodic guitar work. Title track ‘Severing The Divine Iniquity’ is another beast of a track, an absolute whirlwind of technical and brutal death metal played and lightning speeds throughout most of its entirety.  Even when the track does slow down, it’s not for long – a fitting title track indeed! ‘Throne Of Repulsive Torment’ serves up more of what has been served up previously.  Blast isn’t really enough to describe the faster sections, they take on an absolutely crazed feel, but an extremely controlled feel and sound which definitely prevents the songs from becoming muddied in a haze of raging drums and guitars and it is definitely testament to these guys’ abilities on their chosen instruments.
‘Flesh Sculpted Atrocity’ is another older song, but fits in perfectly on the album and shows competent and consistent song writing, which is what you would expect really! ‘Abhorrent Remnants Of The Defiled Being’ closes proceedings and it would appear the best has been left til last. Not sure what has happened, but this song sounds so tight, so together and a real step up (not that the previous tracks weren’t tight or together). It’s a massive song to end things on; paces once again varied from the barrage of blasts down the horrendous slimy crawl and slam tinged slower sections. Vocally it’s as brutal as you are likely to hear on any brutal death metal album. Hamish has worked very hard to get where he is today and all the hard work has definitely paid off. With the studio line up being completed by Chris Ryan (Party Cannon – Iniquitous Savagery) on bass, Hamish has managed to produce an absolute monster of an album that is packed full of songs that ooze everything you want from brutal death metal – blasting drums, raging guitar work, ultra-guttural vocals all played with a technical efficiency that sounds flawless. Hamish’s song writing and playing has taken on a more technical sound than his previous release, but this shows a man improving, learning and absolutely slaying on his guitar and in his song writing and composition/song structuring. If you don’t own a copy of this album, then you’re missing out as it is one of the most brutal releases to come out of the UK in some time and comes very highly recommended.
8.5 Out of 10
Band Page: Here     Buy it: Here

No comments:

Post a Comment